In Spirit

by David Andrés Alíx

You missed a milestone

Did you hold your breath when you decided not to attend?

Did you doubt the space was reserved?

I must believe that you wanted to be present, but your heart-strings wrapped both backs together and neither of your ankles could be stationed in front of the other

Your seat was upholstered with your purple and blue and with you

You could not move off the chair you wore

To be with me in the next room

To see the maiden sailing of my firstborn

There is this

Due to the sacrifice so admirable

I, like you, love our High Admiral

So long as there is a spit-shine and heel-click upon orders

He does permit me to be graced in his quarters

He allows me to plead a case for whomever I choose

I always choose to plead one for you

-2013.03.25

There in Spirit

