Kid

You called me kid

Though young enough

To be my progeny

There was surprise

In your eyes

Not intending to

Utter those frequencies

An expression of affection?

I thought I had imagined it

The taste was cardamom

For the first time

Unsure how to savor the flavor

Like when your throat

Was blanketed by your favorite

Down comforter

As you read my sign

From the Chinese calendar

As if you had penned it yourself

Practicing for the recital

Though we don’t believe

In that sort of thing

I do believe in

Friends held with fondness

Your spirit is a

Heart whisperer

And it’s mine

That calms

When it sees your

Bright blondness

-2013.06.25

Leave a Reply

