Revive

by David Andrés Alíx

Climbing the stairs it happens in a
flash

Quicker than the birth of a thought or
an emotion

A picture, beating light, out of a
place obscure

But which used to be turned on
constantly

A billboard on my highway mind

Right in front of my automobile heart

That left me stranded without a spare care

But which now is a three by five
flashcard

For which the answer is known before

It is flipped up

And when it is

It gets frisbeed across the room  

As my eyes avert from its flight

Because I do not want to know where it
lands

That I need not forget its location

Forgetting requires more than what can

Be mustered

So I avert my eyes, avert my mind

So that it is no longer remembered

Until the next time

And that is the way I must do

Over and over

In every season

That I may hope to be revived

So my hope stays alive

-2013.09.21

