A Retraction

by David Andrés Alíx

image

I make a retraction though it is not from the heart; I still feel the same, but with more vigor

A retraction forced

The evidence seen by our eyes caused the forfeiture of my claim. Should it have been true, we would have celebrated milestones together

Though I am pleased that there have been many given to you, for which to celebrate one another

I defied angels to present irrefutable evidence, and now there is a large body before our eyes, our human eyes, that says my claim was not true

But they know that what carries the burden is our hearts

What is contained therein cannot be contained in this universe, remaining unseen, even to them

I nevertheless yield because I am detained from celebrating with you now

But this is so that I might celebrate with you then

