Let’s Dance One More Time

by David Andrés Alíx

Yesterday I was late, waylaid

Pulled over by a copper on the interstate

He cited me for ten miles per hour over the limit, cutting me a break

I thanked him and I was on my way

I turned on the radio and low and behold it was David Bowie’s Let’s Dance, which always reminds me of you

So I changed the station and low and behold it was the Beatle’s Let it Be when Mother Mary comes to me speaking words of wisdom saying let it be

So I kept it on and let out the passengers

Parked and entered and low and behold your mother María

I thirst for what words of wisdom she might have for me

I was held back by angels, preventing a simultaneous entry, that you may have peace

And I am being told that it’s enough of me, but I cannot let it go or let it be, because I only yern for the home which from afar I did see, which cannot exist without thee

